Public Services > Central Government

NHS trust bags place on Technology Services framework

David Bicknell Published 20 August 2015

St Helens and Knowsley NHS Trust brushes shoulders with IT services names on 80-strong framework


An NHS trust has made it onto the list of organisations named to the Technology Services framework .

St Helens and Knowsley NHS Trust is arguably a surprise name amid an array of over 80 suppliers who include familiar names such as Accenture, CGI, Fujitsu, Capita, Civica, Insight, Sopra Steria, CSC and Bramble Hub, as well as unfamiliar ones such as Future Generation Systems and Greenworld Electronics.

Asked why it had decided to bid to get on the framework, St Helens and Knowsley NHS Trust said its Informatics Department offers a shared IT services to a range of customers across the UK, NHS and non-NHS, supporting over 15,000 users in total.

It indicated that over recent years, the shared service has been purchased by a number of organisations, and the main Informatics portfolio of services had a natural fit to the lots within the framework. The trust said it seemed a logical move by the trust's Informatics Department to make their services available to other potential customers through the framework.

Phil Corrin, deputy director of informatics at the trust said, "We are one of the more commercial thinking NHS Informatics Services and know that we can provide our services to an exceptionally high standard to NHS and non-NHS organisations across the UK. We want to expand our reach and our customer base and when we heard we had been accepted onto the framework, we were delighted and we will respond to the right opportunities as they arise. By being on the framework, we are exposed to more of these opportunities and intend to maximise the potential the framework gives us."

As there were 163 offers, it appears that roughly half of those organisations who applied made it onto the framework

The framework, which was put in place by the Crown Commercial Service (CCS) for use by UK public sector organisations, comprised eleven lots, namely:

Lot 1: Help desk/Service desk
Lot 2: Desktop Support
Lot 3: Network Management
Lot 4: Network and content security
Lot 5: Infrastructure and Platform, Maintenance & Support
Lot 6: Audit services & Asset management
Lot 7: IT Infrastructure Transition Services & Delivery
Lot 8: Service Integration/Service Integrator
Lot 9: Disaster Recovery/ Business Continuity
Lot 10: Back up and Data Services
Lot 11: Asset Disposal

Award criteria for the framework were quality, which accounted for a weighting of 70, and price, with a 30 weighting.

The framework's make up has not been universally welcomed, however, with some criticism that the framework is 'a mess' after splitting what is "managed services" into 11 different lots. One company said the move made little sense, with in some cases, between 40-50 suppliers on each lot.

We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.