Public Services > Central Government

Digital leaders line-up revealed

David Bicknell Published 26 November 2012

Department digital chiefs prepare for December strategy launch


A newly published list of digital leaders for government departments details who is responsible for the publication and driving through of department's digital strategies.

The updated list includes a new name at HMRC, Linda Allen, who according to Investment Committee minutes has helped present the strategic outline case for online self service. The new chief information officer at the Department for Work and Pensions, Philip Langsdale, appears to be covering the digital leaders brief as well.

At a recent roundtable, Government Digital Service executive director Mike Bracken said departments' strategies, which are due to be published in December, will be as much about changes in skills, capabilities, process and thinking within government as about technology.

"What we're hoping to see in December is a much more improved level of ambition statement from departments and that gives us the next two years to go and execute on those transactions. But we will not succeed if the framework of our thinking is technology-led. We've got to think about how we change processes and culture."

The full list of leaders is:

Attorney General's Office: Roger Hill
Business, Innovation and Skills: Stephen Lovegrove
Cabinet Office: Ed Welsh
Department for Communities and Local Government: Sue Higgins
Department for Culture Media and Sport: Jon Zeff
Department for Energy and Climate Change: Wendy Barnes
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Ian Trenholm
Department for Education: Tim Wright
Department for International Development: Richard Calvert
Department for Transport: Brian Etheridge
Department of Health: Rachel Neaman
Department for Work and Pensions: Philip Langsdale
Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Adam Bye
Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs: Linda Allen
Her Majesty's Treasury: Jonathan Black
Home Office: Justin Holliday
Ministry of Defence: Dr Roger Hutton
Ministry of Justice: Antonia Romeo
Northern Ireland Executive: Nigel McVittie
Scottish Government: Mike Neilson
Welsh Government: Janine Pepworth


We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.